Taxation Without Representation

I hate April. I just dropped off my taxes at the post office, and it started me thinking about big government and the whole “fair share” process. Remember in 1773 when our forefathers got together and dumped tea in Boston Harbor to protest the concept of taxation without any say in how the money was spent?  Here we are in 2013, 240 years later….and nothing has changed. We still pay taxes without representation. Be honest, are you happy with how they spend your $$s in Sacramento or Washington? Did anybody ask your opinion?

Think about it. We send all this money to the state capitol and D.C., and then our representatives call us up and ask us how we would like our contributions to be spent…no, wait a minute, that’s not right. I don’t think my representative has ever contacted me. In fact, I’m not sure who they are (state or Federal). Do you know who your representatives are?  I’m sure I vote for somebody every two years, but can’t remember any names.

I know, you’re saying, I have to take some responsibility, look up who was elected, and make my feelings heard…and I have done that upon occasion. But it somehow feels like a drop in the ocean. You get a nice letter, thanking you for your suggestions, but your rep continues to vote the party line.

I protest. Now I don’t plan on dressing up like an Indian and dumping Texas tea (street value of $255 an ounce for the good stuff) into the Port of Los Angeles, or refusing to pay my taxes, but something needs to be done.

I have an idea. What if our local representatives, threw a big kegger party every year for all the voters in their district, the first Friday night after April 15th? They could meet all their constituents, we could learn their names, tell them what we support (or hate) in government, and at least get something for all that tax money.

If we could all write a letter and ask…who knows?9326220-the-democrat-and-republican-symbols-of-a-donkey-and-elephant-facing-off

Leave a Reply

